The piercings I never knew I forgot about

Let’s talk ear piercings.

Once upon a time, when I was a young and impressionable 20 years of age, I went abroad for a summer in Italy to teach English (but really, I went to live with host Italian families and practice my Italian). I know–the most cliche western college student “journey” I could possibly partake in, party of one.

Anyway–during this time, I spent many hours traveling with a Canadian girl from the same program I was in. Other than just being naturally gorgeous and tan and super healthy and fit, I eventually began to admire her one ear of various piercings, and her other ear with just one on it. The asymmetry, and the un-offensiveness of what then seemed like the most courageous and rebellious act ever, became so appealing to me. I just had to have piercings like hers.

During a side trip to Spain, I decided to bite the bullet, and get two new earrings on my left ear. Three or four years later, I found myself in Italy again, and ended up getting a fourth one on that same ear, to continue the rebellion. (There was also a nose ring somewhere down the line, but that fell out and closed up and is really just beside the point.)

“I will ever only get piercings anytime I’m in Europe,” I thought to myself, as I brushed the long mane of my inflated, early-twenties ego. I was sooo cool.

So cool, in fact, that two of those very piercings ended up falling out for reasons so mundane and uneventful that they’ve been erased from the memories I care to remember. So memorable, that three years later, as I accompanied a good friend in my hometown to start her own journey of like thirteen ear piercings, I had to have the piercing artist convince me that I had not one, but two former piercings that were both still open for business. This was after I had singed up to get yet another two. So now I have seven piercings. And I love them all!

Now that I remember I have them, I am newly and frantically obsessed with the piercing possibilities I can play around with! I’ve been exploring Tumblr and Pinterest for some combination inspiration, and am pretty excited to pick out my first ear’s earrings. The other ear is still technically wounded, so it will be a few months before I can decorate that side.

Here are the placeholder earrings for my blank earring canvas. More to come soon once I stop being the most indecisive person and actually choose a few styles!

FullSizeRender (3)

And, while I’m at it, here’s an OOTD because it was sunny and I was feeling pretty in this new Zara knit that I bought heavily discounted from the local Crossroads.

IMG_3074

Leave a Reply

